Document Actions

You are here: Home Newsroom Press Releases 2022 Students and Postgraduates Elect …

Students and Postgraduates Elect New Representatives

Sixty-four members for the Senate and faculty councils

Freiburg, Jul 28, 2022

Students and enrolled postgraduates at the University of Freiburg have elected their new representatives to the Senate and faculty councils in the 2022 University elections. The 64 new committee members (eight in the Senate, 56 in the eleven faculty councils) will assume their roles on October 1, 2022; the period in office runs until September 30, 2023.

The following have been elected student members of the Senate:

  • Althoff, Isabel (Bündnis Verfasste Studierendenschaft a)
  • Pauli, Felix (Juso-Hochschulgruppe Freiburg)
  • Frietsch, Florian (Bündnis Verfasste Studierendenschaft b)
  • Gräber, Julia (Die Mitte)
  • Wiedermann, Julian (Bündnis Verfasste Studierendenschaft a)


The following postgraduates have been elected to the Senate:

  • Lichtenberg, Elisabeth Theresa
  • Frank, Leonard Michael
  • Wendtland, Thea Maresa


The turnout for the Senate vote was 12.3 percent; in the previous year it was 11.1 percent. Among the students it was 12.7 percent, while among the postgraduates it was 8.5 percent. Fifty-six new members were elected to the eleven faculty councils; three seats remain unfilled due to lack of suitable applications. Women make up 60 percent of all those elected.

The University elections took place at the same time as the Student Council elections and was held online this year for the third time in a row.


Dr. Tobias Haas
Election official
University of Freiburg
Tel.: +49 761 203-4851