Document Actions

You are here: Home Newsroom Press Releases 2020 The Election Results Are In

The Election Results Are In

Undergraduate and graduate students as well as PhD candidates enrolled at the University have cast their votes for the Senate and Faculty Councils

Freiburg, Dec 18, 2020

The Election Results Are In

Photo: Jane/

Undergraduate/graduate students and PhD students who are enrolled at the University had the chance to vote for their student representatives in the Senate and Faculty Councils from December 8 to 14, 2020. This year’s election took place online for the first time.

Overall voter participation was 15.29 percent, which is a moderate increase compared to 11.77 percent last year. It is also a record high for the last few years. Voter participation was higher among undergraduate/graduate students with 15.53 percent compared to the PhD students, 11.80 percent of which exercised their right to vote.

The new undergraduate/graduate student members of the Senate are Lea Dieminger (campusgrün), Giulia Pompa (Juso HSG), Fabio Smitka (Die Mitte), Mark Emanns (BVS-a), and Katharina Felicitas Hüll (BVS-b). The newly elected PhD student representatives in the Senate are Friederike Lammert, Eva Rüskamp and Sebastian Will.

In addition to the Senate election, 59 members were voted into office in the eleven Faculty Councils. Of all the elected students, 65.67 percent (almost two-thirds) are women. All elected undergraduate/graduate and PhD students will serve in the Faculty Councils until September 30, 2021.

The names of all candidates and deputies can be found on the University of Freiburg’s election website.


University of Freiburg’s election website


Dr. Tobias Haas
Election Director
University of Freiburg
Phone: +49 (0)761 / 203–4851

Filed under: