Document Actions

You are here: Home Newsroom Press Releases 2023 Chris Meisinger elected into …

Chris Meisinger elected into Academia Europaea

Biochemist recognised for outstanding achievements in mitochondrial research

Freiburg, Jun 14, 2023

Chris Meisinger elected into Academia Europaea

Prof. Dr. Chris Meisinger. Photo: Jürgen Gocke

Prof. Dr. Chris Meisinger, Professor for Biochemistry at the University of Freiburg was appointed to the “Academia Europaea” in June 2023 for his “outstanding achievements as a scientist” in the field of mitochondrial research. The non-governmental academy was founded in 1988 on the initiative of the British Royal Society and other European academies. The aim of the Academy is to promote European research, to advise governments and international organisations on scientific issues, and to support interdisciplinary and international research.

Meisinger teaches and conducts research at the Institute of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Freiburg, with a particular focus on mitochondria. Inside cells, they ensure that nutrients are converted into available energy. Meisinger’s work contributes to the understanding of which biological signals control the function of mitochondria, how mitochondria communicate with other cellular compartments and how this communication can be disturbed in diseases. In the process, he discovered numerous new components and deciphered their molecular function.

In 2019, Meisinger founded the Collaborative Research Centre SFB1381 (Dynamic Organisation of Cellular Protein Machineries), which he chairs as spokesperson, and is a member of the Cluster of Excellence CIBSS - Centre for Integrative Biological Signalling Studies at the University of Freiburg. He is a board member of the Spemann Graduate School SGBM at the University of Freiburg and a member of the Senate Committee of the German Research Foundation for Research Training Groups. Meisinger has received several awards for his academic teaching, such as the Best Lecturer Award by the students of Molecular Medicine in 2012.

For more information about Academia Europaea

The Academia Europaea has about 5000 members from the fields of physics and technology, life sciences and medicine, mathematics, humanities, social and cognitive sciences, economics and law, among them 83 Nobel laureates. Appointment to the Academia Europaea is based solely on personal nomination and a multi-stage competitive selection process, and is for life after election by the Council of the Academy.


Office of University and Science Communications
University of Freiburg
Tel.: 0761/203-4302